Tra Vinh: New seven communes recognised as new-style rural areas

At the conference (Photo: VNA) TraVinh (VNA) – Seven communes of the Mekong Delta province of TraVinh have freshly been recognised as new-style rural areas, said the SteeringBoard for National Target Programme of the province on January 30. Theinformation was revealed at a conference to review the steering board’sactivities in 2017 and launch new tasks in 2018. Accordingly,the seven new rural areas include Long Toan commune in Duyen Hai township, DongHai commune in Duyen Hai district, along with Hung Hoa, Ngai Hung and Tan Hoaof Tieu Can district, Hoa Minh in Chau Thanh district and Thanh Phu in Cau Kedistrict. Todate, 30 out of 85 communes of the province have received the recognition. Atthe conference, head of the steering board and Secretary of the provincial PartyCommittee Tran Tri Dung asked relevant agencies to continue stepping upactivities for the province’s localities to meet criteria of the nationaltarget programme on building new-style rural areas. In2018, Tra Vinh will focus on three main tasks of applying science andtechnology in production in line with building new-style rural areas, raisingfarm produce’s quality while ensuring food safety and fostering human resourcesquality for poverty reduction, especially in Khmer-inhabited and poorlocalities.-VNA


Link and